Visa Representation Agreement


In a number of countries in the region, Denmark does not have diplomatic representation capable of issuing visas. For this reason, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs has entered into agreements with the following countries to process visa applications on behalf of Denmark: visa facilitation agreements are linked to readmission agreements. Readmission agreements define procedures for returning persons (individuals, third-country nationals or stateless persons) to the EU or the partner country of the third country. If the applicant does not use the representation agreement, the applicant may, for example, travel to Turkey to submit his application. The prerequisite is that the applicant stays legally in Turkey (for example. B legally crosses the border and has an entry fee) and there is a valid reason not to apply in the applicant`s country of origin. You can find out which Swiss representation is responsible for your place of residence by clicking above on the “Representations” tab in the grey ribbon. Statement of data protection. Processing personal data in the context of a visa application This means that it is particularly important for visa applicants and their Danish contacts to check in advance the list of current representation agreements for countries where Denmark does not have legitimate representation on the ministry`s website.

Note: Visa representation only applies to applications for a Schengen visa (short stay of up to 90 days): the Ministry of Integration has decided to temporarily suspend representation agreements with Germany and Finland. This is because, at present, these countries are not able to meet Danish consultation requirements for Danish central authorities before a visa can be issued with Denmark as a destination country. Schengen member states can agree that one country represents another country in terms of visas. A separate representation agreement is reached, Finland only applies to visa applications. Residence permits must always be issued to a Finnish mission. In some countries where Denmark does not have visa-issuing embassies, we have visa agreements with other Schengen countries for people travelling to Denmark. This system is based on so-called representation agreements concluded on the basis of an agreement between the Minister of Integration and the Minister of Foreign Affairs. Other requests for short-term stays of up to 90 days (Schengen visa) for business, tourism and visits to family and friends may be requested at the Consulate General of the Republic of Lithuania. (**) Hungary is partially represented by Germany on 1 October 2009. The scope of the partial visa representation agreement includes the following categories of visa applicants. However, decisions on visa applications should normally be made within 15 days; in exceptional cases, this can take up to 30 days.